• b13-st-james-the-less-slideshow-1
  • b13-st-james-the-less-slideshow-2
  • b13-st-james-the-less-slideshow-3
  • b13-st-james-the-less-slideshow-1
  • b13-st-james-the-less-slideshow-2
  • b13-st-james-the-less-slideshow-3

 

Board 13. St James’ the Less, Parish Church of West Teignmouth.


St James’ church was the heart of old West Teignmouth. The original church, dedicated in 1268, was demolished in 1819. The current limestone octagonal building, incorporating the tower of the original church, was consecrated in 1821. The tower, built from local red sandstone, was used as a lookout and is the oldest building in Teignmouth. The ancient belfry ladder, inside, made of wych elm and oak stands 22 feet (7 metres) high. It is said that Admiral Sir Edward Pellew, who was a significant benefactor of the rebuilding, may have influenced the choice of this unusual design. Graceful cast iron fluted pillars support the roof. Galleries, since removed, provided seating for 1,500.

The memorial window in the north face of the nave depicts the Regimental and Naval badges and the names of over 100 West Teignmouth parishioners who died in the First World War. The 55 who lost their lives in the Second World War are also commemorated.

Elias Parish Alvars, born in Teignmouth in 1808 and baptised in St James', was a notable composer and harpist achieving international acclaim. His father, who owned a music shop in Wellington Street, was the first organist at St James'.

Thomas Luny, the marine artist, who lived and worked in Teignmouth, is buried in the churchyard, as are many local men of the sea.

For next board: Leave by the main churchyard entrance and continue ahead to the main road. Cross using the Pelican crossing. Continue in the same direction to another Pelican crossing, cross to the other side; continue along the main road- Bitton House will be on your left in about 200m.- the board is alongside the entrance driveway.

 

Your next boards

 

Board 14. Bitton House

Board 14. Bitton House

The name “Bitton” is believed to have originated from the thirteenth century bishop of Exeter, Thomas de Bytton, who is said to have built a house in West Teignmouth.

Read more

Board 1. Teign Heritage Centre

Board 1. Teign Heritage Centre

Teignmouth has the dubious distinction of being the site of the last invasion by a foreign country on English soil.

Read more

Did you know?

When the track from Exeter to Plymouth was changed to standard gauge after Brunel’s Atmospheric Railway was scrapped, it was carried out over three days in May 1892- an amazing engineering feat.

Teign Heritage
29 French Street
Teignmouth
Devon
TQ14 8ST
(opposite the railway station and parking)

Tel: 01626 777041 or email info@teignheritage.org

Contact form

Heritage Trail Menu

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/01.1-Teign-Heritage-Centre.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/01.1-Teign-Heritage-Centre.jpg?width=200&height=83

1 Teign Heritage Centre

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/02.2-St-Michael-Churchyard-.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/02.2-St-Michael-Churchyard-.jpg?width=200&height=83

2 St Michael’s Churchyard

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/03.3-St-Michael-East-Side-on-Promenade.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/03.3-St-Michael-East-Side-on-Promenade.jpg?width=200&height=83

3 St Michael's East Side (Promenade)

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/04.4-Church-Rocks-Wreck.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/04.4-Church-Rocks-Wreck.jpg?width=200&height=83

4 Church Rocks Wreck

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/05.5-Pier-Upper-Den-Carriageway.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/05.5-Pier-Upper-Den-Carriageway.jpg?width=200&height=83

5 Pier Den Carriageway

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/06.6-Den-Entrance-.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/06.6-Den-Entrance-.jpg?width=200&height=83

6 Den Entrance

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/07.7-Point-Car-Park.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/07.7-Point-Car-Park.jpg?width=200&height=83

7 Point Car Park

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/08.8-The-Ship-Inn.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/08.8-The-Ship-Inn.jpg?width=200&height=83

8 The Ship Inn

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/09.9-Trafalgar-Names-at-Ship-Inn.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/09.9-Trafalgar-Names-at-Ship-Inn.jpg?width=200&height=83

9 Trafalgar Names, Ship Inn

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/10.10-River-Beach-Fish-Quay.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/10.10-River-Beach-Fish-Quay.jpg?width=200&height=83

10 River Beach, Fish Quay

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/11.11-George-St-and-Brunswick-Street.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/11.11-George-St-and-Brunswick-Street.jpg?width=200&height=83

11 George St/Brunswick Street

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/12.12-Teign-Street-.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/12.12-Teign-Street-.jpg?width=200&height=83

12 Teign Street

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/13.13-St-James-the-Less-Parish-Church.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/13.13-St-James-the-Less-Parish-Church.jpg?width=200&height=83

13 St James’ the Less, Church

images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/10.10-River-Beach-Fish-Quay.jpg#joomlaImage://local-images/teignmouth-heritage-trail/00-small/10.10-River-Beach-Fish-Quay.jpg?width=200&height=83

14 Bitton House

Teignmouth Heritage Trail Logo

 

The Teignmouth Heritage Trail was established by the Teignmouth Midsummer Folk Festival to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the Battle of Trafalgar.

Read more