Board 11. George St / Brunswick Street
During World War Two Teignmouth suffered more than its share of bombing raids. Between July 1940 and May 1944 79 people were killed and 151 injured. The Town Hall, Library and Fire Station which stood nearby and the 1930s Hospital in Mill Lane were all destroyed. The target of the bombing was the nearby Morgan Giles shipyard which was involved in essential war work.
Before the war, Agra Engineering was situated in this area. The owner, Mr William Parkhouse, formed a flying club at Haldon. While the aerodrome was under construction he stored his Avro aeroplane in his town premises. Many famous aviators, including royalty, used Haldon. Notable was the Hon Mrs Victor Bruce. She not only raced motor cars and speedboats but also, after only eight weeks’ tuition, she flew solo to Japan, returning via America.
During the 1930s, crowds would flock to Haldon to see exciting aeronautic displays by Sir Alan Cobham’s Flying Circus or Air Pageants and Races. A commercial mail and passenger service was set up connecting Teignmouth, Plymouth and Cardiff. During the war the aerodrome was taken over by the Naval Air Squadron. All that remains of the aerodrome now is a memorial plaque on a granite stone to the rear of the National Trust car park off the B3192 opposite the golf course on Haldon.
For next board: Continue along George Street and turn left into Somerset Place, follow it round to the right. Turn right into Sun Lane, see the Old Smoke House on the right.
Board 12. Teign Street
Marine artist Thomas Luny (1759-1837) lived and worked in Luny House which then backed on to the river and gave him his favourite view of shipping and the Ness.
Board 13. St James’ the Less, Parish Church of West Teignmouth
St James’ church was the heart of old West Teignmouth. The original church, dedicated in 1268, was demolished in 1819.










